Summer of Joy

Tuesday, March 25, 2014

About the book:
For Jocie Brooke, the summer of 1964 certainly was eventful, but it's nothing compared to what's coming to Hollyhill, Kentucky, and the Brooke family next. The past is coming to call, threatening to destroy the relationships that everyone thought were so strong. Two people--one thought to be gone for good and the other no one's ever heard of--are making their way to the small town. And it promises trouble for everyone.
This complex and beautifully written story is the perfect conclusion to The Heart of Hollyhill series. With true-to-life family drama, refreshing humor, and characters readers have come to love like dear friends, "Summer of Joy" will delight Gabhart's fans.

 About Ann:

Ann H. Gabhart grew up on a farm in Kentucky. By the time she was ten she knew she wanted to be a writer. She's published over twenty novels. She and her husband have three children and nine grandchildren. She still lives on a farm not far from where she grew up. She loves playing with her grandkids, walking with her dog, reading and, of course, writing. Her Shaker books, set in her fictional Shaker village of Harmony Hill in the 1800's, are popular with readers. The Outsider was a Christian Fiction Book Award Finalist in 2009. Her Heart of Hollyhill books are Small Town, America books set in the 1960's. Angel Sister, a Rosey Corner book set during the Great Depression, will be followed by Small Town Girl. Visit Ann's website or her two blogs, One Writer's Journal,, and the Hollyhill Book of the Strange, www.hollyhillbookofthestrange.blogspo.... Giveaways several times a year.

My Thoughts:
I read The Scent of Lilacs and really enjoyed it. It was great to go back to Hollyhill and see what Joice was up to. Joice's English teacher, Mr. Hammond has singled her out and not in a good way. He also has his on Leigh, which is her father, David's girlfriend/fiancee. 
Someone is stalking the residents, people from the past show up and add more mystery to the story, and Wes who believes he is from Jupiter is absolutely hilarious.
While this is the third book in the series, it could be read as a stand alone, however I think you would enjoy it a lot better if you read the other books in the series.
Ann has a great way of adding a spiritual element without being overbearing and you will definitely see and feel what God has for these characters, and yourself.
Highly recommended!!


No response to “Summer of Joy”
Post a Comment | Post Comments (Atom)

RADIANT LIGHT | Blogger Template Design By LawnyDesigns Powered by Blogger