When Tides Turn (Waves of Freedom #3) by Sarah Sundin

Thursday, April 13, 2017

About the book:

The last thing naval officer Dan Avery wants to see on his radar is glamour girl Quintessa Beaumont—even if she has joined the WAVES.
When fun-loving glamour girl Quintessa Beaumont learns the Navy has established the WAVES program for women, she enlists, determined to throw off her frivolous ways and contribute to the war effort. No-nonsense and hoping to make admiral, Lt. Dan Avery has been using his skills to fight German U-boats. The last thing he wants to see on his radar is a girl like Tess. For her part, Tess works hard to prove her worth in the Anti-Submarine Warfare Unit in Boston—both to her commanding officers and to the man with whom she is smitten. When Dan is assigned to a new escort carrier at the peak of the Battle of the Atlantic, he’s torn between his lifelong career goals and his desire to help Tess root out a possible spy on shore. The Germans put up quite a fight, but he wages a deeper battle within his heart. Could Tess be the one for him?

My Thoughts:

While I have loved each book Ms. Sundin has written, this series has a very special place in my heart, and I am very sad to see it end. I have forty-three years of Navy experience, twenty as a Navy brat with my dad, and twenty-three as a Navy wife with my ex-husband. Plus my dad would talk to me about the WAVES. In fact because of what my dad told me I was actually planning to go into the Naval Academy until I was injured my senior year in high school.
As with all of Ms. Sudin's books she takes real facts and weaves a story that is both captivating and entertaining. After I read a book of Ms. Sudin's I am not only sad that it is over I feel as though I have just finished a great history class on WWII.
While each book can stand alone, I highly recommend the entire series.

My Review

About Sarah Sundin:

Sarah Sundin enjoys writing about the drama and romance of the World War II era. She is the author of the Waves of Freedom series (Through Waters Deep, 2015, Anchor in the Storm, 2016, When Tides Turn, March 2017), the Wings of the Nightingale series, and the Wings of Glory series. Her novel Through Waters Deep won the 2016 INSPY Award, was a Carol Award finalist, and was named to Booklist's "101 Best Romance Novels of the Last 10 Years."
A mother of three, Sundin lives in northern California. She works on-call as a hospital pharmacist and teaches Sunday school and women's Bible studies. She enjoys speaking to community, church, and writers' groups.


No response to “When Tides Turn (Waves of Freedom #3) by Sarah Sundin”
Post a Comment | Post Comments (Atom)

RADIANT LIGHT | Blogger Template Design By LawnyDesigns Powered by Blogger