Within These Lines by Stephanie Morrill Review with Giveaway

Saturday, March 9, 2019

Banner_WithinTheseLines_Blog

Welcome to the Blog & Review Tour - and Giveaway - for Within These Lines by Stephanie Morrill, hosted by JustRead Publicity Tours!

ABOUT THE BOOK

9780310765264Title: Within These Lines  
Author: Stephanie Morrill  
Publisher: Blink YA  
Genre: Historical Young Adult Fiction  
Release Date: March 5, 2019

When Evalina Cassano and Taichi Hamasaki are torn apart by the events following the attack on Pearl Harbor, they must fight if they want any hope of returning to one another before World War II steals their future together. Within These Lines is one unflinching, haunting, historical novel you don’t want to miss; perfect for fans of Monica Hesse, Ruta Sepetys, and Elizabeth Wein.

Evalina Cassano’s life in an Italian-American family living in San Francisco in 1941 is quiet and ordinary until she falls in love with Taichi Hamasaki, the son of Japanese immigrants. Despite the scandal it would cause and that inter-racial marriage is illegal in California, Evalina and Taichi vow they will find a way to be together. But anti-Japanese feelings erupt across the country after the attack on Pearl Harbor, and Taichi and his family are forced to give up their farm and move to a Japanese-American internment camp.

Degrading treatment makes life at Manzanar Relocation Center difficult. Taichi’s only connection to the outside world is treasured letters from Evalina. Feeling that the only action she can take to help Taichi is to speak out against injustice, Evalina becomes increasingly vocal at school and at home. Meanwhile, inside Manzanar, fighting between different Japanese-American factions arises. Taichi begins to doubt he will ever leave the camp alive.

With tensions running high and their freedom on the line, Evalina and Taichi must hold true to their ideals and believe in their love to make a way back to each other against unbelievable odds.  

Within These Lines:
  • Is a young adult historical novel set in the World War II era
  • Contains themes of love, separation, social justice, war, and diversity
  • Perfect for junior high and high school students
  • A Junior Library Guild Gold Standard selection

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

stephanie-morrill-low-res-227x300

Stephanie Morrill writes books about girls who are on an adventure to discover their unique place in the world. She is the author of several contemporary young adult series, as well as the 1920s mystery, The Lost Girl of Astor Street, and the WWII era romance, Within These Lines. Since 2010, Stephanie has been encouraging the next generation of writers at her website, GoTeenWriters.com. She lives in the Kansas City area, where she loves plotting big and small adventures to enjoy with her husband and three children. You can connect with Stephanie and learn more about her books at StephanieMorrill.com, Instagram, Facebook, and Twitter.  

CONNECT WITH THE AUTHOR: website | facebook | twitter | instagram


My Thoughts:

This book made me angry and sad while giving me hope that American's can be better and do better!

I loved both Evalina and Taichi. I related to Evalina. In fact her being an Italian-American teenager is one of the things that drew me to the story, because I am also Italian-American. Her fiery, spunky personality is one of my favorite type of female character. I loved that she was a political science major, and one that went against the grain of political correctness and fought for the injustice done to Japanese-Americans.

Taichi was the sweetest. He has integrity, courage, and a heart for others. His care and concern for not only Evalina, and his family; but everyone at the camp, other families that rode the same bus to the Manzanar. There wasn't anyone he wouldn't help.

The story of these two young adults was raw, gritty, real, inspiring, and one I won't forget anytime soon. It depicts a horrible time in American history. One that I don't believe is talked about or even taught much. I don't remember learning much about this period of time in American history class. This is just one of many reasons I love historical fiction. No history class can teach us everything about each time period and historical fiction gives us a great story and a more personal view of history than any text book.

I highly recommend this book! I had a great opportunity to talk about this book with our server at a restaurant the other day and she was so interested in it she said she was going to get a copy!










Disclaimer: I received a copy of this book from the publisher in association with Just Read Publicity Tours. I was not required to write a review. All thoughts and opinions are my own.


GIVEAWAY

Giveaway_WithinTheseLines

(1) Grand Prize winner will win a release copy of Within These Lines & a special designed poster of Within These Lines from the publisher, Blink YA. Featured quote on poster: "Be Brave Enough to Care and Bold Enough to Act"

(5) First Prize winners will each with a special designed poster of Within These Lines from the publisher, Blink YA. Featured quote on poster: "Be Brave Enough to Care and Bold Enough to Act"

Be sure to check out each stop on the Bookstagram Tour and (upcoming) Takeover Tour, as well as this tour for more chances to win. Full tour schedule shown below. Giveaway began at midnight March 5, 2019 and will last through 11:59 PM EST on March 18, 2019. Winners will be notified within 2 weeks of close of the giveaway and given 48 hours to respond or risk forfeiture of prize. Due to shipping cost, only US mailing addresses valid. For our giveaway rules and policy, click HERE.


Follow along at JustRead Tours for a full list of stops!

Be sure to stop at the following tours for more chances to win!

Banner_WithinTheseLines_IG2

*NOTE: This post contains affiliate links.
JustRead Logo

Comments

No response to “Within These Lines by Stephanie Morrill Review with Giveaway ”
Post a Comment | Post Comments (Atom)

 
RADIANT LIGHT | Blogger Template Design By LawnyDesigns Powered by Blogger