Isaiah's Daughter (Prophets and Kings #1) by Mesu Andrews Reviewed

Monday, January 15, 2018






About the book:

In this epic Biblical narrative, ideal for fans of The Bible miniseries, a young woman taken into the prophet Isaiah's household rises to capture the heart of the future king.
Isaiah adopts Ishma, giving her a new name--Zibah, delight of the Lord--thereby ensuring her royal pedigree. Ishma came to the prophet's home, devastated after watching her family destroyed and living as a captive. But as the years pass, Zibah's lively spirit wins Prince Hezekiah's favor, a boy determined to rebuild the kingdom his father has nearly destroyed. But loving this man will awake in her all the fears and pain of her past and she must turn to the only One who can give life, calm her fears, and deliver a nation.







About Mesu Andrews:

Mesu grew up with a variegated Christian heritage. With grandparents from the Pilgrim Holiness, Nazarene, and Wesleyan Churches, her dad was a Quaker and mom charismatic. As you might imagine, God was a central figure in most family discussions, but theology was a battlefield and Scripture the weapon. As a rebellious teenager, Mesu rejected God and His Word, but discovered Jesus as a life-transforming Savior through the changed life of an old friend.
The desire for God's Word exploded with her new commitment, but devotional time was scarce due to the demands of a young wife and mother. So Mesu scoured the only two theology books available--children's Bible stories and her Bible. The stories she read to her daughters at night pointed her to the Bible passages she studied all day. She became an avid student of God's Word, searching historical and cultural settings as well as ancient texts and original languages. 
Mesu and her husband Roy have raised those two daughters and now enjoy a tribe of grandkids, who get to hear those same Bible stories. Mesu's love for God's Word has never waned. She now writes biblical novels, rich with spiritual insight learned through fascinating discoveries in deep historical research.
Mesu writes in their log cabin tucked away in the beautiful Appalachian Mountains. Her best friend is an American Staffordshire Terrier named Zeke, who keeps her company on long writing days. Zeke also enjoys watching movies, long walks in the woods, and sitting by the fireplace on rainy days. 


My Thoughts:

Mesu Andrews does what she does best. She takes a piece of biblical history, cloaking the characters in flesh and blood and writing a fictional tale that draws you into the time and place. Andrews has a knack for giving a fresh teachable perspective on a few thousand year old story that causes you to think and rethink about the precepts you may have learned in church. The story draws you to the Bible to read the biblical account.

The story is told by young Ishma an orphan girl who is taken in by Isaiah and his wife. Her childlike innocence and faith illuminates through the pages. I fell in love with her and the sweet way she and Isaiah interact. Israel as a nation is a mess, with a king that refuses to follow God and the laws He gave to Moses. Isaiah the wise prophet is instructing Prince Hezekiah the future King, hoping that he does not fall into the same trap his father, King Ahaz, has in not being obedient to God. Prince Hezekiah is caught between his father, King Ahaz, his teacher, the prophet Isaiah, and sweet Ishma, his childhood friend. 

Whether you are a fan of biblical fiction or not, this is a must read. It is so rich in detail, biblical history, and truth you will feel like you have spent time in the Holy Land. I can’t recommend this book enough!


The scripture basis for this book can be found in 2 Kings 16-20, 2 Chronicles 28-32, and all of Isaiah.

Disclaimer: I received an early copy of this book from the publisher, as part of a street team, in exchange for a review. I was not required to write a positive review. 



Comments

No response to “Isaiah's Daughter (Prophets and Kings #1) by Mesu Andrews Reviewed”
Post a Comment | Post Comments (Atom)

 
RADIANT LIGHT | Blogger Template Design By LawnyDesigns Powered by Blogger